Scientific Advisory Council

Dr. David H. Sachs: since 1991, Dr. Sachs has been the director of the Transplantation Biology Research Center Laboratories at Massachusetts General Hospital, professor of surgery in the Center for Translational Immunology at Columbia University, and professor emeritus at Harvard Medical School.

Dr. Francisco G. Cigarroa: is a nationally-recognized pediatric transplant surgeon, past-President of the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio, prior Chancellor of the University of Texas System, and now serving as the chair of the Ford Foundation Board of Trustees.

Dr. Warren C. Breidenbach III: led the team of surgeons that performed the nation’s first (and the world’s first successful) hand transplant at the University of Louisville. He has since performed more hand transplants than any other surgeon in the world.

Dr. Byron C. Hepburn, Maj Gen, USAF Ret: is Associate Vice President and inaugural Director of the Military Health Institute at the University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio. He has a distinguished military career spanning 38 years, serving as the past Director of the San Antonio Military Health System, Commander of the 59th Medical Wing, and Deputy Surgeon General of the Air Force.

Dr. William E. Bauta: is a medicinal chemist with over 25 years of experience in discovery, development, and commercialization of pharmaceuticals, including those in the immunology sector.